Special Edition on The 9th Postgraduate Course on “Surgery of The Thoracic Aorta” in Bologna

Posted On 2018-08-22 11:15:28

This issue is Guest Edited by Drs. Roberto Di Bartolomeo, Davide Pacini and Mohamad Bashir in collaboration with JOVS. The aim of this focused issue is to discuss the open, hybrid, transcatheter and endovascular techniques employed during operations on the thoracic aorta.

Preface on Cardiac Surgery 
Special Edition on The Ninth Postgraduate Course on “Surgery of The Thoracic Aorta” in Bologna
Mohamad Bashir, Roberto Di Bartolomeo, Davide Pacini

Original Article on Cardiac Surgery 
The evidence in a Bentall procedure with Valsalva graft: is this standard of care?
Ziv Beckerman, Bradley G. Leshnower, LaRonica McPherson, Jose N. Binongo, Yi Lasanajak, Edward P. Chen

Review Article on Cardiac Surgery
Ten-year experience with the Perceval S sutureless prosthesis: lessons learned and future perspectives
Vincent Chauvette, Amine Mazine, Denis Bouchard

Thoracoabdominal aortic aneurysm surgery: a different perspective on stent grafts failure
Amer Harky, Prity Gupta, Mohammad Usman Ahmad, Callum Howard, Lara Rimmer, Mohamad Bashir

Viewpoint on Cardiac Surgery
Why to be cautious with the use of the frozen elephant trunk in acute type A aortic dissection
William J. Morshuis

Commissural repositioning in bicuspid aortic valve repair with Valsalva graft
Monica Contino, Andrea Mangini, Claudia Romagnoni, Carlo Antona

Surgical Technique on Cardiac Surgery 
Thoracoabdominal aortic aneurysms open repair: a multimodal approach
Roberto Chiesa, Enrico Rinaldi

Perspective on Cardiac Surgery 
The endovascular repair of the aortic arch using a double branched prosthesis
Stoyan Kondov, Maximilian Kreibich, Bartosz Rylski, Matthias Siepe, Friedhelm Beyersdorf, Martin Czerny

Total aortic repair for acute type A aortic dissection: a new paradigm
George Matalanis, Shoane Ip

4D flow characterization of aortic blood flow after valve sparing root reimplantation procedure
Nicola Galea, Filippo Piatti, Christopher Lau, Francesco Sturla, Luca Weltert, Iacopo Carbone, Ruggero De Paulis, Mario Gaudino, Leonard N. Girardi